Nugget World Rib-Eating Championship

Total Prizes: $5,000 total prize purse

Major League Eating
and the Nugget Casino Resort are proud to announce the return of the Nugget World Rib-Eating Championship in 2017. The 12th installment of this marquee event will kick off the 29th annual Best in the West Nugget Rib Cook-Off, held at the Nugget Casino Resort.

At last year’s event, Joey “Jaws” Chestnut downed 9.6 pounds of ribs during the 12-minute contest, unseating last year’s rib champion — Matt “Megatoad” Stonie. Chestnut retains the 12-minute rib record that stands at 13.76 pounds, which is, for lack of a better word, amazing.

The 12th Annual Nugget World Rib-Eating Championship shall soon be upon us. Major League Eaters are warmly invited to sign up and do battle against ribs, against their peers and against themselves. Do you dare join them? Do you simply want to get a jump on your Labor Day weekend festivities and figure Wednesday evening is the right time to start? At the table or in the crowd—don’t miss it!

This contest will take place at 6 p.m. local time, on Wednesday, August 30, 2017, at The 29th Annual Best in the West Nugget Rib Cook-off at the Nugget Casino Resort—1100 Nugget Ave, Sparks, NV 89431!

1st – $2,500
2nd – $1,200
3rd – $650
4th – $450
5th – $200

*All applicants must be 18 years of age or older and fully acknowledge and understand the inherent dangers and risks associated with participating in an eating contest. The applicant further acknowledges and understands that the MLE/IFOCE coordinates with event sponsor(s) to select and approve eligible participants, and that the MLE/IFOCE shall decide, at its sole discretion, whether an applicant is eligible to participate in any eating event, and/or related activities. The MLE/IFOCE may revoke an applicant’s eligibility to participate in the eating contest, or related activities, at any time, for any reason, at its sole discretion. The MLE/IFOCE and the event sponsors reserve the right, at any time, to change any and all details concerning the event, including, e.g., time, duration, location and prize structure.

Nugget World Rib-Eating Championship Past Winners: 

2016 Rib Eating Championship
1st  Joey “Jaws” Chestnut 9.6 lbs.
2nd Matt “Megatoad” Stonie 7.8 lbs.
3rd Rich “The Locust” LeFevre 4.8 lbs.
4th Steve Hendry 3.6 lbs.
5th D. Brian Burghart 2 lbs.

2015 Rib Eating Championship
1st Matt “Megatoad” Stonie 10.5 lbs.
2nd Joey “Jaws” Chestnut 9.75 lbs.
3rd Miki Sudo 6.25 lbs.
4th Lesley Rider 6.15 lbs.
5th Rich LeFevre 5 lbs.

2014 Rib Eating Championship
1st Joey “Jaws” Chestnut 9.27 lbs.
2nd Matt “Megatoad” Stonie 8.3 lbs.
3rd Miki Sudo 6.7 lbs.
4th Eric “The Red” Denmark 5.147 lbs.
5th Juan “More Bite” Rodriguez 5.072 lbs.

2013 Rib Eating Championship
1st Joey “Jaws” Chestnut 13.76 lbs. (World Record)
2nd Matt “Megatoad” Stonie 11.2 lbs.
3rd Miki Sudo 7.1 lbs.
4th Juan “More Bite” Rodriguez 6.15 lbs.
5th Steve Hendry 4.67 lbs.

2012 Rib Eating Championship
1st Joey Chestnut 8.0 lbs.
2nd Matt Stonie 7.5 lbs.
3rd Patrick Bertoletti 5.8 lbs.
4th Michelle Lesco 4.6 lbs.
5th Juan Rodriguez 4.5 lbs.

2011 Rib Eating Championship
1st Joey Chestnut 7.6 lbs.
2nd Pat Bertoletti 6.6 lbs.
3rd Matt Stonie 6.3 lbs.
4th Erik Denmark 5.2 lbs.
5th Ron Koch 3.8 lbs.

2010 Rib Eating Championship
1st Joey Chestnut 8.0 lbs.
2nd Pat Bertoletti 6.9 lbs.
3rd Erik Denmark 4.8 lbs.
4th Ron Koch 4.1 lbs.
5th Jason Erb 3.3 lbs.
6th David Headrick 3.2 lbs.
7th Ryan McKillop 2.9 lbs.
8th Ken Douglas 2.5 lbs.
9th Dan Statum 1.7 lbs.
10th Paul Nguyen 1.4 lbs.

2009 Rib Eating Championship
1st Pat Bertoletti 5.8 lbs.
2nd Joey Chestnut 5.7 lbs.
3rd Erik Denmark 4.7 lbs.
4th Hall Hunt 3.9 lbs.
5th Marco Marquez 3.8 lbs.
6th Ron Koch 3.6 lbs.
7th Ryan McKillop 3.0 lbs.
8th Jason Erb 2.7 lbs.
9th Shawn Kirby 2.0 lbs.
10th Curtis Richardson1.6 lbs.
11th Rodney Wear 1.4 lbs.
12th Aaron Lamb 1.2 lbs.

2008 Rib Eating Championship
1st Joey Chestnut 9.8 lbs.
2nd Pat Bertoletti 7.4 lbs.
3rd Erik Denmark 4.7 lbs.
4th Rich LeFevre 4.6 lbs.
5th Ron Koch 3.4 lbs.
6th Jason Erb 2.8 lbs.
7th Shawn Kirby 2.5 lbs.
T8 El Toro 2.2 lbs.
T8 Tim Lyon 2.2 lbs.
T10 Kevin Lyon 1.8 lbs.
T10 Andy Taschler 1.8 lbs.
12th John Kramer 1.7 lbs.
T13 Chester Chang 1.4 lbs.
T13 Vinh Nguyen 1.4 lbs.
15th Aaron Lamb 1.3 lbs.

2007 Rib Eating Championship
1st Joey Chestnut 7.0 lbs.
2nd Pat Bertoletti 6.1 lbs.
3rd Rich LeFevre 4.3 lbs.
4th Jason Erb 3.6 lbs.
5th Erik Denmark 3.3 lbs.
6th Jason Beals 2.4 lbs.
7th Tim Waite 1.9 lbs.
T8 Shawn Kirby 1.8 lbs.
T8 Wayne Wilson 1.8 lbs.
10th Dennis Mui 1.2 lbs.
11th Spencer Thomas 0.9 lbs.
12th Anthony Miller 0.8 lbs.

2006 Rib Eating Championship
1st Joey Chestnut 4.5 lbs.
2nd Pat Bertoletti 4.0 lbs.
3rd Rich LeFevre 3.8 lbs.
4th Jed Donahue 3.3 lbs.
T5 Erik Denmark 2.5 lbs.
T5 Jason Erb 2.5 lbs.
7th Jason Leos 2.0 lbs.
T8 Ron Koch 1.7 lbs.
T8 El Toro 1.7 lbs.
T8 Scott Morrison 1.7 lbs.
11th Tab Newcomb 1.5 lbs.

Rooms | Dining | Entertainment | Packages | Casino